jump to navigation

Why Do We Dance? January 7, 2013

Posted by occhristiancounseling in attachment, Dr. Debi Smith, Events, understanding men.
trackback

by Dr. Debi Smith

Fred Judkins Dr. Debi SmithLife is difficult, but we are not alone. The righteous have many troubles, but The Lord delivers us from them all! So as Christians, we surely have Good Reason to be joyful … and to dance. King David said it this way:

You have turned my mourning into dancing; you have taken off my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, so that my soul may praise you and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give thanks to you forever. (Psalm 30:11-12)

I find the whole idea totally irresistible. But as far as I know, I’m the only psychologist who has actually made couples dancing one of her clinical techniques! And why not? It’s a great way to enjoy one another. It’s filled with Fun, Friendship, and Romance … which works great for Fred and me, and we believe it can work for you, too!

Fred and I are particularly fond of Victorian-style dancing for several reasons. First, it beautifully follows the Biblical Principles of male leadership (protect, guide, love) and female submission (trust, respect). Second, it’s so easy that ANYONE can learn how to do it. Third, it’s elegant and fun, especially with a group of like-minded believers. We hope you’ll join us in February at Mariners Church in Irvine! We promise easy-to-learn dances, Victorian-style parlour games, and Load of Laughter … guaranteed! [read more]

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

